The 5 love languages

Are you talking to me? About love languages.

To fall in love is easy. It doesn’t need much more than a party of friends. But what you may not realize is that maintaining healthy relationships is a daily pursuit.

love language online therapy.jpg

Cause what makes one person feel loved does not necessarily make another person feel loved. It’s as if you are speaking different languages. And that’s what it actually is, says Dr. Gary Chapman, inventor of the love language concept. He compares the personal love languages with foreign languages. When two people with different native languages meet, the communication is difficult and sometimes even impossible. But if you learn the language of the other you can understand and even express yourself. The concept love languages claims that there are five ways to express love emotionally. Each person has a primary love language that we must learn to speak if we want that person to feel loved.

1. Words of Affirmation
This group of people shows love and respect to the people by using words of affirmation. And they feel loved when they hear words of affirmation directed to them. “I love you” or “Thanks for…” will fall like rain on parched soil, if your spouse’s primary love language is words of affirmation.

2. Quality Time
If your spouse’s love language is quality time, giving him or her your undivided attention is one of the best ways you can show your love. 20 minutes of your undivided attention – listening and conversing – is like a 20-minute refill of your spouse’s love tank.

3. Receiving Gifts
Small gifts are used to show and receive repect, affection and love. The gifts need not be expensive or elaborate; it’s the thought that counts. Even something as simple as a homemade card or a few cheerful flowers will communicate your love to your spouse.

4. Acts of Service
Do you remember the old saying, “Actions speak louder than words”? If acts of service is your spouse’s primary love language, nothing will speak more deeply to him or her emotionally than simple acts of service. It can be the smalles and least important things that make peoples’ hearts beat faster like for example doing the dishes.

5. Physical Touch
If physical touch is your spouse’s primary love language, nothing communicates love more clearly than for you to take the initiative to reach out and touch your mate. This includes everything from putting a hand on your mate’s shoulder as you walk by, touching his or her leg as you’re driving together, and holding hands while you’re walking to kissing, embracing and sexual intercourse.

As soon as you understand this concept and realize that everybody gives and receives love in a different way you start to see friendships, familiy relations, and love relationships more clearly. All it needs is to discover what the other needs in order to feel loved and to speak in his or her language!

Click here to test your love language and the one of your spouse for free.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren:

Is depression inheritable? Depression is one among the most common psychological problems of our times. The probability to develop a mayor depression within your life time is up...
Everybody feels anger from time to time?! How to overcome anger Anger is an emotion characterized by antagonism toward someone or something you feel has deliberately done you wrong. The verba...


  1. Agree with all of the above!

    All these are true from a Transactional(Analysis) point of view.
    So to say from a material life point.
    We are conditioned to expect and accept these rules /laws depending on our upbringing, education, culture, expectations, experiences etc.

    What about the cosmic love!!?


  2. Continued :

    Many a times words of affirmation, Quality time, gifts,Respect, physical touch all exist in a relationship yet there is no feeling of Love.

    I think and feel that Karma has a bigger role in reality for all the problems, situations, feelings, experiences, happiness, sorrow, break ups connections etc.

    Hindu scriptures have divided Karma into 3 kinds :

    1. Sañcita Karma (Reserved)
    2. Prarabdha Karma (Fruit Bearing)
    3. Agami /Kriyamana Karma(Current)

    Some people get love easily
    Some have to work too hard
    Others don’t have love…

    Would like to talk with you so much about these aspects of life, Psyhology, cosmos, Universe, Human Mind etc.

    Carolin, I wish you all the very best in every walk of life.

    Peace Love Unity Respect

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *